Posted by: lepages | October 2, 2009

Sumatra

Breakfast this morning was spent seeing the news on the earthquakes and tsunami affecting the Sumatra region. These scenes bring the question ‘What’s this about Lord? Other than a fulfilling of prophecy….

It was in the light of this that I came to read God’s word…

2 Timothy 4:5 (English Standard Version)

“As for you, always be sober-minded, endure suffering, do the work of an evangelist, fulfill your ministry.”

Father, I pray for your people who are enduring suffering at present. Lord, in the midst of the trauma and grief, help them to hold out the hope of the gospel and speak for you Lord Jesus. And Lord, help me to do that too – to ‘do the work of an evangelist’ – help me always to be ready in season and out of season to speak for you, to lift you up and to point others to you. Holy Spirit, would you draw others to the Saviour.

‘Fulfil your ministry’ – help me to do that Lord, even in this time of sabbatical; may it be a means to fulfilling your purposes in and through my life and a fulfilling of what you call me to. In Jesus name I pray. Amen.

Psalm 118:26a (ESV)

“Blessed is he who comes in the name of the LORD!”

How true this is, that as we step out for the Lord, as we go in his name, we are blessed. I know this from experience, as I step out for him my life is blessed, I walk close to him, I know his presence, I know his blessing on every part of my life – not that that means no problems, but you can face problems when you go in his strengh, with his authority, when you go in his name. I guess that’s why the writer of the psalm then went on to burst into praise and to encourage others to do so also – and surely we should too – and we are blessed as we do so.

Psalm 118:28,29 (ESV)

You are my God, and I will give thanks to you;
you are my God; I will extol you.
Oh give thanks to the LORD, for he is good;
for his steadfast love endures forever!

In the midst of the sorrow and grief Lord, may those aid workers who go in your name find cause to praise you. In Jesus name, amen.

Leave a Reply

Categories

