Posted by: lepages | October 16, 2009

Incredible news for everyone!

Over the last few days I haven’t felt inspired to blog anything from my time with God particularly, but this evening I read this from The Message:-

“This mystery has been kept in the dark for a long time, but now it’s out in the open. God wanted everyone, not just Jews, to know this rich and glorious secret inside and out, regardless of their background, regardless of their religious standing. The mystery in a nutshell is just this: Christ is in you, so therefore you can look forward to sharing in God’s glory. It’s that simple. That is the substance of our Message. We preach Christ, warning people not to add to the Message. We teach in a spirit of profound common sense so that we can bring each person to maturity. To be mature is to be basic. Christ! No more, no less. That’s what I’m working so hard at day after day, year after year, doing my best with the energy God so generously gives me.”
Colossians 1:26-29

This is the incredible news, that Christ wants to be at the centre of all of our lives! It doesn’t matter what background we come from, whether we’re religious or not, Christ wants to come into our lives and bring us to maturity as human beings, to be the best that we can be as human beings. The reality of this has I know progressively transformed my life – though I think God may still have some way to go to complete his work in me!! He wants to do that in each of us. I guess its the realisation of all of this that led me to leave my work as a dispensing optician and contact lens fitter and go to Bible college some 17/18 years ago now and has caused me to feel I want to echo Paul’s words at the end of that paragraph. Whatever I do, I want to do to my best to bring glory to Christ, to point others to him, and to enable others to know the joy in him that I have – and the wonderful thing is that it is God who continually gives me the energy to keep going at that, as long as I walk in his purpose and will for my life.

Leave a Reply

Categories

