Posted by: lepages | October 18, 2009

Diary update!

Well, good weekend thus far!

In my time with God yesterday morning I read and prayed the following:-

“And what God wants is for us to be made holy by the sacrifice of the body of Jesus Christ, once for all time. Hebrews 10:10 New Living Translation

Thank you Jesus that your sacrifice makes me holy, thank you that it sets e aside for God and for his use, thank you that it makes me fit to come before God in all his purity and holiness. Thank you Lord that I do not have to strive to be holy, but instead just seek to live in the holiness that your sacrifice has bought for me.

“If you keep yourself pure, you will be a utensil God can use for his purpose. Your life will be clean and you will be ready for the Master to use you for every good work.” 2 Timothy 2:21 NLT

Thank you for your cleansing Lord. If there’s any part of me that needs cleansing again, then Lord, please wash me clean. I want to be clean to be used by you. Lord, please prepare good works for me to do today and help me to walk in them. In Jesus name I pray. Amen.

Well, prayer is a powerful thing – God listens to our prayers, takes them seriously and sometimes answers them in ways we might not expect!! Since that time I have had opportunity to share the gospel, the good news of new life in Jesus in a meaningful way with someone, and I’ve had another person pour out their heart over some difficult things their family is facing and been able to stand with them in prayer.

Reflecting on the last couple of days I’m reminded of Ephesians 2:8-10 (New International Version):-

For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith— and this not from yourselves, it is the gift of God—not by works, so that no-one can boast. For we are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.

We can’t do anything to put ourselves right with God, but he puts us right with himself through Jesus’ sacrifice – as preparation for living our lives for him, and doing things he brings us to the right place at the right time to share in. Praise God for giving me the privilege of seeing that as a reality once again over the last 24 hours.

Well what else from the last couple of days….

I entered a ‘hill climb’ on my bike yesterday. I put hill climb in commas as I’m not really sure that it really fits under that label! The course was 2.7km long – over 50% of which was on the flat to a very possible slight incline – really weird starting a hill climb on the flat!! There were 2 slopes with a little dip inbetween. Discovered my legs were still aching from the half marathon, so didn’t push too hard in advance of the slopy bit – but pleased with my time – came 6th overall – in a time of 4:53 – if only I’d pushed a little bit harder I could have been 5th as was beaten by 2 seconds for fifth spot…… of course if I’d been 22 seconds slower I would have been 7th and come last! 😉 Average speed for ‘hill climb’ 33.2kph.

Good cycle before and afterward with a couple of others, clocking a total of circa 76k at an average speed of circa 28kph

This morning it was a joy to go to church and I went and joined my friends at Bedford Pentecostal Church, Roise Street. What a delight to be in a congregation which was a little picture of the imagery of heaven with people from every tribe and language and people and nation joining together in worship – a delight to be a part of a congregation taking seriously the call to reach out in mission locally and internationally, hearing news of new projects reaching out locally – opportunities for prayer, coffee mornings and internationally – Operation Christmas Child, but also 10 members currently working out at Watoto in Uganda. Some fantastic new banners around the worship area. Great to see folk from a wide ethnic mix sharing in leading in different parts of the worship. Some great teaching too from Psalm 8 (NIV)

O LORD, our Lord, how majestic is your name in all the earth!
You have set your glory above the heavens.
From the lips of children and infants you have ordained praise because of your enemies, to silence the foe and the avenger.
When I consider your heavens, the work of your fingers, the moon and the stars, which you have set in place, what is man that you are mindful of him, the son of man that you care for him?
You made him a little lower than the heavenly beings and crowned him with glory and honour.
You made him ruler over the works of your hands; you put everything under his feet: all flocks and herds, and the beasts of the field, the birds of the air, and the fish of the sea, all that swim the paths of the seas.
O LORD, our Lord, how majestic is your name in all the earth!

An exposition on why our God’s name is majestic in all the earth – because of who he is in his nature, his glory displayed in creation (some great pictures from the Hubble telescope!), his grace extended to human kind through the Lord Jesus.

And as I type this up, I sit watching the gymnastics on TV – those guys and girls are soooooo strong! Some awesome stuff!

Leave a Reply

Categories

