Posted by: lepages | October 23, 2009

Addictions and reflections!

Well, been feeling a bit low last few days – busy few days early in the week – tired, also annoying problem with my back courtesy of the driving I think, been struggling with expectations and other thoughts too, but actually, I’m starting to think it was withdrawal symptoms!! I think maybe I’m addicted to the buzz that comes from the release of endorphins that comes with physical exercise! Not that I’m seeing that negatively – there could be many other things that I could be addicted to which are bad for me, but exercise by and large is good! Anyway, for the first time since last Saturday I had some exercise this afternoon! Cycled over to the inlaws at Harrold and after the ride there took a fresh long route home – Harrold – Carlton – Turvey – Newton Blossomville – Astwood – Cranfield – Wootton – Box End – Bromham – Home. Total distance over the two parts 54.25k – total time 1:51 – giving an average speed of 29.3kph. And the great thing was I felt so much better for it – even if I’m tired now and legs ache a bit!!

Felt better too for an extended time with the Lord this morning.

Spent a long time meditating on 1 Peter 2:9,10 (English Standard Version)

“But you are a chosen race, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a people for his own possession, that you may proclaim the excellencies of him who called you out of darkness into his marvelous light. Once you were not a people, but now you are God’s people; once you had not received mercy, but now you have received mercy.”

Some reflections on phrases above….

– chosen – why choose me? ‘that I might display my spledour in and through you’

– royal – not apt to think of myself as royalty

– holy – set apart for God – for his pleasure – for his use

– proclaim the excellencies of him – not just the good news, the gospel of salvation, but the excellency of our God

– marvellous light – how I need to bathe in that light – so often we sunbathe in the sun – we take time out to lie in its rays, how I need to do the same, to take time to just be in your marvellous light Lord

– not a people, now God’s people – once no purpose, now with meaning and purpose to live for him, to display his glory and splendour

– you have received mercy – none of this deserved – all a product of God’s grace and mercy and at his initiation.

Thank you so much Lord!

Leave a Reply

Categories

