Posted by: lepages | October 24, 2009

The effect of rain!

Well, I was all set to go and join Leo and the gang from Beds Road CC for the bike training session this morning…. and it started to rain steadily…. did I want to go out and do slow technique cycling in the rain…. er….no! So altered plans for the day. Time to read and pray this morning – and good time too – Julie out doing the clean up in the rain (though it did dry up a bit) – Helen tucked up in bed!

Some reflections on that time….

Leviticus 20:6-8 (New Living Translation)

“If any among the people are unfaithful by consulting and following mediums or psychics, I will turn against them and cut them off from the community. So set yourselves apart to be holy, for I, the LORD, am your God. Keep all my laws and obey them, for I am the LORD, who makes you holy.”

We live in a society which is becoming more and more obsessed with and accepting of consulting mediums and psychics. Is this one of the factors (amongst many!) that has brought about the downfall of the condition of our society? As Christians we need to set ourselves apart from such behaviour, to refuse to have anything to do with it and dedicate ourselves to following the Lord and living in obedience to him – but make no mistake – we will not make ourselves holy by so doing – it is only the LORD who makes us holy as we co-operate with him.

Found myself having a conversation with the Lord this morning, confessing my lack of prayer, the ease with which, even in my tie with him, I’m driven to get through as much material as I can, prayer letters I’ve received, books I’ve been given/purchased… and what did the Lord say to me? Did he answer all my questions/longings? – He said …. ‘Just walk with me…’ There is something powerfully releasing in that – not having to worry about accomplishing this/that – but just walk with him – knowing he will work out his purposes in his time, in his way, in our lives.

Proverbs 16:31 (English Standard Version)

“Grey hair is a crown of glory; it is gained in a righteous life.”

I wonder why I keep getting my hair cut short so that it doesn’t show?! šŸ˜‰ False humility? Pride? šŸ˜‰

Mick Brooks, Chief Executive of CWR

“Selwyn Hughes, the founder of CWR, held the view that our Christian lives flourish or fade in relation to our devotional time spent with God. I would encourage you to spend time daily in the Word of God and in the presence of the One who knows you best.”

Lord, how I know this to be true and how I have bizzarely struggled with it in this time of sabbatical and yet in the last couple of days as I have got back into it, what a joy is found as I spend time with you and with your word.

Well, after a good time with the Lord, I decided to go and face the rain… whilst staying dry! Took the long route round to Manor Farm Granaries at Brington in the car! Just as we all benefit from a service at times so do our cars!! Its such a pleasure to drive a car just after its been serviced – everything is so much smoother and sharper…. and replacement windscreen wipers make a tremendous difference in the rain!! And it is so much quicker going the long way round A6, A45, A14 than going up the more beautiful route through Kimbolton.

Back for lunch, sort the birds seed supplies out and then after household duties, off up to the gym.Ā  My new gym schedule is tough! Its amazing how much small changes can make a challenge.

Start off with 5k on the track machine with a 1.5% incline @12kph – hard work. Kept it at 12 till half way and then edged it up and down between 12.5 and 12 for the second half. Completed inside 25mins. On to core strength weights and exercises – sets of 15 instead of 12 is hard!! Followed with 15 mins on the cross trainer – varying between 150 and 230 watts – high heart rates, but never quite as high as the 171 at the end of the run.

Weather outside lovely for cycle home – sun out now and blue skies lovely.

Did some ironing before tea and then watched a brilliant film about a Scottish shipbuilder who is made redundant, who has major family turmoils relating to the loss of a son who drowned, and how reconciliation comes as he sets himself to swim the channel – a good swimmer, again, helpful just watching the clips of his stroke as he swam – reminds me of watching my swimming teacher swimming up at Kempston pool last week and seeing a brilliant swimmer after my first tri down at Hampton on Easter Monday – maybe one day!! Aside from the swimming an excellent film… but can’t remember what it was called and deleted from the hard drive now.

Oh well….

Leave a Reply

Categories

