Posted by: lepages | November 6, 2009

Reflections…

Some more thoughts/prayers/reflection from my time with God over the last few days…

Hosea 6:3 (Holman Christian Standard Bible)
Let us strive to know the LORD.
His appearance is as sure as the dawn.
He will come to us like the rain,
like the spring showers that water the land.

It was Tuesday lunchtime when I read this. It was raining heavily outside as I was preparing for my cycle ride to Northampton. My prayer was ‘Lord, please let it clear’ and praise you Lord, it did – even if I did struggle in my ride as mentioned in my last blog. But that aside, how true that scripture is – whenever I deliberately bring myself before the Lord, he shows up and brings refreshment. Thank you Lord for the refreshment of being with you even now.

Philip Greenslade, Leadership p41
“There is an ULTIMATE calling; what might be described as the CALL OF THE FATHER. It is a call to serve God first of all in his big world, not my little one! This stops me at once being a big fish in a small pond. The Father’s call, like a tidal wave, submerges my pettiness and sweeps me out into the larger seas.”

The phrase that struck me was ‘a call to serve God first of all’. How easy it is to get caught with serving our own agendas, or even serving others agendas, when what we are called to firstly is to serve God. My mind goes to Jesus where he said he only did what his Father was doing (John 5:19) I wonder what we are doing? Our agendas? Others agendas? Or God’s?

Colossians 3:12-14 (New Living Translation)
Since God chose you to be the holy people he loves, you must clothe yourselves with tenderhearted mercy, kindness, humility, gentleness, and patience. Make allowance for each other’s faults, and forgive anyone who offends you. Remember, the Lord forgave you, so you must forgive others. Above all, clothe yourselves with love, which binds us all together in perfect harmony.

I want this to be true of my life, but its not written to an individual, its written to the people of God as a body of his people. One of the greatest things being impressed on me – as an introvert, which I am – and so appreciate this time of being here on my own in an empty house at present – is how central community is or should be to the body of Christ. We are made in God’s image, to be like him and he exists in community, as Father, Son and Holy Spirit, and longs to welcome others into his family, to adopt them in as his children. And so for me it was a pleasure to share a meal with friends last night, and have another friend call around. But my prayer on reading the above scripture was this, reflecting personal response and corporate concern:-
‘Help me Lord, as I return to church to do this, to be clothed with your love, and to love others. Out of that love, bind us together in perfect harmony and help me to clothe myself as you require, and so model it to others. And Lord, please deliver us from critical spirits.’

Leave a Reply

Categories

