Posted by: lepages | November 21, 2009

More reflections…

Some more thoughts/reflections/comments/prayers etc. from time spent with God over last few days…

A brilliant quote for all preachers out there from Ed Stetzer in ‘Preaching’ magazine vol.25 no.3

“Merely preaching a sermon is not enough. Truth encountered and truth remembered will result in truth applied.”

‘Help me Lord, as I return to preaching in 6 weeks or so’s time, to help people encounter your truth and to do so in such a way that they remember, so it can be worked out in their lives… and indeed in my own.’
___________________________________________________________

1 Corinthians 2:4,5 New International Version
“My message and my preaching were not with wise and persuasive words, but with a demonstration of the Spirit’s power, so that your faith might not rest on men’s wisdom, but on God’s power.”

‘Oh that we might see your Spirit’s power displayed amongst us Lord – that your glory might be known, that we might have the faith to step out for you, not because of persuasive human words, but because of your power made known. Oh Lord, please do it amongst us. Make you power known!’
___________________________________________________________

Read the following verses in the New Living Translation this week, and thought it was just a brilliant rendering of this Scripture:-

“All Scripture is inspired by God and is useful to teach us what is true, and to make us realise what is wrong in our lives. It straightens us out and teaches us to do what is right. It is God’s way of preparing us in every way, fully equipped for every good thing God wants us to do.” 2 Timothy 3:16,17 NLT

‘Lord, keep me coming back to your Word, being renewed by it, being straightened out by it and being equipped for all you call me to.’
__________________________________________________________

On a day after reading of government plans to enforce the teaching of the theory of evolution in primary schools (encouraging that its listed as ‘theory’; discouragingly, concluding comment of a scientist in an article in The Times, clearly speaks of as a ‘fact’ – I wonder how it will be approached in education?) what a delight to read these verses from Job 38:4-9 The Message:-

“Where were you when I created the earth?
Tell me, since you know so much!
Who decided on its size?
Certainly you’ll know that!
Who came up with the blueprints and measurements?
How was its foundation poured, and who set the cornerstone, while the morning stars sang in chorus and all the angels shouted praise?
And who took charge of the ocean when it gushed forth like a baby from the womb?
That was me!
I wrapped it in soft clouds, and tucked it in safely at night.”

I think investigating process is interesting, though I have to say, the theory of evolution still has major question marks for me – I can see evolution within a species, but from one to another? The evidence is just too scant. I’d expect there to be loads of fossil evidence of inbetween stages if it takes so long… but there doesn’t seem to be. But, whether through evolution or some other means, the thought that it is all just a product of ‘chance’ is mind-boggling! The evidence of design is there for all to see! We have a wonderful Creator, who has put everything in right place and in right order – even if we have attempted to distort things. Praise you Lord for the wonder of your creativity!

Psalm 139 reflects the dual nature of God’s involvement and creativity and the natural process he has put in place:-

“You made all the delicate, inner parts of my body and knit me together in my mother’s womb.
Thank you for making me so wonderfully complex!
Your workmanship is marvellous—and how well I know it.
You watched me as I was being formed in utter seclusion, as I was woven together in the dark of the womb.”
Psalm 139:13-15 NLT

God made and God watched! Doing my Biology ‘A’ level was the thing that most convinced me of God as Creator – in no way could our bodies be so ‘wonderfully complex’ without a marvellous workman!

The discussion over education in this whole area continues in The Times today – have a look at this article here.

Leave a Reply

Categories

