Posted by: lepages | November 29, 2009

Reflections…

Some more thoughts, comments, prayers and reflection from time spent with God over the last few days or so…..

“I do all this to spread the Good News, and in doing so I enjoy its blessings. Remember that in a race everyone runs, but only one person gets the prize. You also must run in such a way that you will win. All athletes practice strict self control. They do it to win a prize that will fade away, but we do it for an eternal prize. 26 So I run straight to the goal with purpose in every step. I am not like a boxer who misses his punches. I discipline my body like an athlete, training it to do what it should. Otherwise, I fear that after preaching to others I myself might be disqualified.”
1 Corinthians 9:23-27 New Living Translation

Lord, help me this day, whatever it brings, to do all for the sake of the good news, to witness to you in it. Help me to enjoy the blessings of living for your good news today. Help me to live my life to the full for your glory. Help me to give my all to train for competition and achieve the best I can, and help me to do this in the way I live my life in every part. Help me to put purpose in everything I do. Help me never to miss opportunities on whatever level and to be disciplined in every part of my life – spiritually, in spending time with you – socially, with my family and friends – in service to the community and church and yes, even in my training for physical competition too!

“God is our refuge and strength, a help in distresses, very readily found.” Psalm 46:1 Darby’s Translation

How true this is…. its not hard to find God – all we have to do is v10“Be still and know that I am God.” and he comes and meets with us – thank you for being with me just now Lord – praise your name!

A quote from our friend Heather Smith who is an evangelist with Counties in her most recent prayer and news update:-

“The garden is doing well, and I’m enjoying seeing if seeds have germinated when I go into the greenhouse each day. Some only take a few days to germinate and some are taking over a year. A wonderful picture of how God’s seed takes varying time to grow in people’s hearts.”

In the last few days I’ve also read of a couple working in a Muslim majority country for over 20 years before they saw one person become a follower of Jesus Christ. In a short period whilst they were away that person then lead many more to Christ and in just a short period of time a number of fellowships have been established.

God is truly wonderful, and its an incredible privilege to join with him in the task of sowing seeds of faith, watering it and seeing it bear fruit. Lord, give us fresh joy in seeing new seeds germinating to your glory and to people’s blessing.

“Do you see what this means—all these pioneers who blazed the way, all these veterans cheering us on? It means we’d better get on with it. Strip down, start running—and never quit! No extra spiritual fat, no parasitic sins. Keep your eyes on Jesus, who both began and finished this race we’re in. Study how he did it. Because he never lost sight of where he was headed—that exhilarating finish in and with God—he could put up with anything along the way: Cross, shame, whatever. And now he’s there, in the place of honour, right alongside God.” Hebrews 12:1,2 The Message

Its good to look at the legacy of those who have gone before us – in whatever sphere – spiritually and physically. I know how much I have learned by observing spiritually the example of others; how much I have learned physically too – particularly with swimming – it was being able to watch skilled swimmers from above that enabled me to improve my stroke – though I still have a long way to go!! But seeing others examples is what just encourages me to get on with it, and hopefully be an example to others for the future.

Not sure I’m into “spiritual fat” – though I know a lot of people are – wanting to receive more, to be blessed (nothing wrong with that – More Lord!!) – but rarely giving out (something majorly wrong there Lord!) – but I do seem to battle with physical fat – having gained 4lbs since my virus and half marathon it is so hard to lose it again – and ideally I could lose a few more pounds than that! I suppose the answer is to just keep on going – keep on running – I feel a song there – fix our eyes on the finish and go for it – and spiritually the best example to follow is Jesus, to get in his slipstream, or draft, to use the more current term, and go with him.
Help me Lord to go with you.

Responses

  1. Kim Hill sings a great song that says “…in the middle of a struggle there’s a quiet place you can go / Be still a know that He is God / Be still and know / Right in your heart there is a temple / Come and bow before the throne / Be still and know that He is God…”
    I consider a great blessing that one can have to be able to completely stop in the middle of his/her struggle and come before the throne of God…I do not have that ability yet…it’s just in my head, but not expressed as “my first reaction” in the middle of a struggle…yes, I pray when I am in that corner of discomfort, but to be able to stop, be still, and know that God is in control, to feel that reality and experience His peace…well, that’s a secret that I have not learned yet…the thing is that I do not believe that this “skill” can be learned by reading about it, hearing about it, or even seeing it in someone’s life, but by experiencing those struggles that are meant to mature us in Christ. Yet, when we find ourselve’s under pressure, we pray that God would deliver us from those very situations that are meant to change us ! We like the routine, the contexts that are manageable and under our control…At the same time our lips whisper again and again: “God, help us to be more like your Son…” Is that what makes us interesting as humans ?

  2. Interesting comments – interesting because they reflect those of Jesus, ‘Father, if its possible, let this cup pass from me.’ Thank God he has entered into all we are as human beings, and inspite of our flaws, the wonder is we are made in his image.


Leave a Reply

Categories

