Posted by: lepages | December 13, 2009

The Fulfilment

Well, beautiful day now, as I type! Went to visit Bromham Baptist Church this morning. Interesting to have Mark Hatto take the theme to end a series called ‘The Coming Messiah’ under a title ‘The Fulfilment’ – interesting because that was the focus of my final day at Waverley Abbey looking at God’s Redemptive story – thinking about how Jesus has fulfilled so much and how there is more to come, to look forward to and that has implications for us in living out in the now!! Themes were similar thinking about how God’s Kingdom is now and not yet, present and yet to come! Such are the joys and complications of our wonderful God!

An interesting service – clearly structured – after an initial introduction and welcome the music group led a time of led sung worship – including the first new song I’ve heard in my sabbatical that’s left me thinking that’s a song worth learning – ‘This is our God’ by Reuben Morgan – powerful words with fitting melody!

THIS IS OUR GOD
Words and Music by Reuben Morgan

VERSE 1:
Your grace is enough
More than I need
At Your word I will believe
I wait for You
Draw near again
Let Your Spirit make me new

CHORUS:
I will fall at Your feet
I will fall at Your feet
And I will worship You here

VERSE 2:
Your presence in me
Jesus light the way
By the power of Your word
I am restored
I am redeemed
By Your Spirit I am free

BRIDGE:
Freely You gave it all for us
Surrendered Your life upon that cross
Great is the love
Poured out for all
This is our God
Lifted on high from death to life
Forever our God is glorified
Servant and King
Rescued the world
This is our God

During the sung worship there was a time when the congregation were encouraged to bring their own prayers of praise. After the sung worship there was the notices, then a time of testimony, to which a couple of folk shared. Then before Mark brought the teaching someone else came and brought prayers on intercession.

From my sabbatical its been impressed on me the importance of sharing together as God’s people in worship; its also been impressed on me how important our personal time with God is… and even this week I’ve realised afresh how easily we can miss out on that time and lose out as a result….

It’s been a bad week for me spiritually on a personal level (though with 2 good times on a corporate level – one at Waverley and then our Blokes day on Wednesday) – but personally I seem to have been rushing from one thing to another and missing out on the best. I have an ingrained pattern of spending time with God, reading his word, praying, and being prompted by other Christian books, newsletters etc at the start of the day. If I don’t start the day that way I find it difficult to stop when there’s other things to be done – Lord help me to change that pattern and make time to be with you when my early mornings aren’t possible.

I wrote that paragraph in my diary this morning, along with some other things, and then my Bible reading led me to these verses from Galatians 6:7,8 New Living Translation
Don’t be misled. Remember that you can’t ignore God and get away with it. You will always reap what you sow. Those who live only to satisfy their own sinful desires will harvest the consequences of decay and death. But those who live to please the Spirit will harvest everlasting life from the Spirit.

I don’t think my week has been about feeding my ‘sinful desires’. I don’t think its been about ‘the fitness God’ taking first place – all I’ve managed this week on the fitness front has been one visit to the gym late afternoon Tuesday and the Traktors spinning class Thursday night.

But not sowing to the Spirit on a daily basis brought decay to my spirit – but praise God, even as I sat in his presence once again this morning I felt that renewing again as the Spirit breathed afresh on my life.

Lord, help me to prioritise this time with you above all else.

Last Sunday I read this quote from David Adam in his book ‘The Road of Life’:-

If you look at anything closely it will reveal new wonders to you. Wonder is revealed in all things; nothing is common or ordinary, all are filled with power and light. If we do not know this it is because we have not looked close enough or long enough. Those who have closed their eyes, their mind and heart miss the splendour and wonder of the world. The world is not there only to be classified or rescued or even possessed, it is there to be wondered at and to lead us to marvel at its creation, and its Creator.

You might think after that quote I’d come up with some great spiritual comment to follow on with what I’ve written earlier… but no!

This is my diary note from my entry last Sunday….

“This is one of my delights in getting out on the bike, going for a run, even a walk – just being able to enjoy the beauty of creation. Very rarely do I go out and not find my heart swelling with praise to my Creator for the wonder and beauty of his creation, and for my being in a position to see it and to take it in.

Enjoy God! Enjoy his world!

Leave a Reply

Categories

