Posted by: lepages | December 30, 2009

Scattered reflections….

Ages since I’ve shared any reflections from my time with God – will probably take several posts to catch up, but here we go, some scriptures, reflections, thoughts and prayers. Hope they inspire you as they have me.

“Let the peace of Christ keep you in tune with each other, in step with
each other. None of this going off and doing your own thing. And cultivate thankfulness. Let the Word of Christ—the Message—have the run of the house. Give it plenty of room in your lives. Instruct and direct one another using good common sense. And sing, sing your hearts out to God!” Colossians 3:15,16 The Message

What fabulous advice for God’s people – to let God’s peace – not our pussy footing around so as not to offend/upset one another – his peace keeping us in tune and in step – rather than heading off on our own track, our own favoured idea, or our own latest idea. Thankfulness is key – it lifts our spirits.
Thank you so much Lord for all the good in our church life, for all your blessings in my life, repeated again and again. Your Word is key Lord – let it drive my life, let it drive the life of our cells, let it drive the life of our church. Give us wisdom Lord and give us freedom to just release ourselves to sing out your praise.

“May I never boast except in the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom the world has been crucified to me, and I to the world.” Galatians 6:14 New International Version

Powerful, challenging words – its easy to boast in other things, even good things, but to boast in the cross of the Lord Jesus Christ – I’m not sure that’s something I’m very good at – help me to boast in you and your sacrifice and recognise that through your sacrifice the world and its attractions is now dead to me and doesn’t have power any longer, because now I live to you.

“Go figure out what this Scripture means: ‘I’m after mercy, not religion.’ I’m here to invite outsiders, not coddle insiders.” Matthew 9:13 The Message

I wonder what that means for us, the church, and as individuals in whom the Spirit dwells as we are the body of Christ? How is that to work out for us? For Jesus, he was being criticised for mixing with the wrong sort of people. I wonder how many of us would ever be critiqued like that…..

“I want you to be merciful; I don’t want your sacrifices. I want you to know God; that’s more important than burnt offerings.” Hosea 6:6 New Living Translation

God’s interested in practical Christianity – not religious acts! But what does it mean ‘to be merciful’? Does that mean we just wait for something to happen where we have an opportunity to show mercy? Surely not. It seems an active expression, so surely we must seek out opportunities for acts of mercy. But again, we must not become so obsessed with doing because what God desires is that we know him – not just about him – which is why I’m here now, enjoying his presence!

“Pure religion and undefiled before our God and Father is this, to visit the fatherless and widows in their affliction, and to keep oneself unspotted from the world.” James 1:27 American Standard Version

What a challenge this is… I have always felt that to fulfil the Great Commission – to make disciples, and the Great Command – to love God, were the key things in life, but I really need to take to heart the call to ‘love one another’ – I know in a sense I do – just the amount of time I spent asking about people’s well-being at the carol service bears testimony to that – but can I bring myself to focus in more on these priorities – and how do I get the balance right in the time I have available…..

Well, its been a challenging time… perhaps as Christians we all need to be challenged out of our comfort zones to live as Jesus lived… we are supposed to be his disciples… and disciples learn from their Master… more to follow in a future post!

Leave a Reply

Categories

