Posted by: lepages | January 6, 2010

More reflections…

Some challenging thoughts, scriptures and prayers as I have returned to ministry at Rutland Road Church

“And this commandment we have from him: whoever loves God must also love his brother.” 1 John 4:21 English Standard Version

A direct command to not only love God, but also to love our brothers too – maybe we need to (maybe I need to!) get back to a focus on the 3 essentials and 3 core values of loving God, loving one another and loving the lost. Help me/help us to do that Lord, for your honour and for people’s blessing.

“Devote yourselves to prayer, being watchful and thankful…. make the most of every opportunity. Let your conversation be always full of grace, seasoned with salt…” From Colossians 4:2-6 New International Version

How do we get our priorities right?
Surely its by this – making the most of every opportunity – help me Lord to get back to that – I think I used to in the past – and surely it is by being devoted in prayer – Lord, I need to become devoted in prayer – to establish a means, a pattern that calls me to pray each day – that calls me to worship – to love you; that calls me to pray for others – my brothers and sisters – to love one another – and to pray for those who are yet without you – to love the lost – perhaps I need to take an hour to pray each day – whether that be corporate or personal, beyond this time of reflection on your word and wider prayer requests.

“The fruit of righteousness will be peace; the effect of righteousness will be quietness and confidence for ever.” Isaiah 32:17 NIV

Lord, help me to live a righteous life that results in my life being one of quietness and confidence, brought about through that confident trust in you. As I look at the world, sadly what I see, is not the fruit of righteousness, but rather the fruit of unrighteousness.

“He restores my soul. He guides me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.” Psalm 23:3 World English Bible

This is the wonder of it all – the thing that has struck me more than anything else during my sabbatical – God is the initiator – its him that restores my soul – not me in my own strength – its him who guides me – not so much my seeking out of his guidance – its God who has initiated every covenant with humankind – its God who sent his Son into the world to be the Saviour of the world; its him who saves us – inspite of our consistent failure to live up to what he calls us to – thank you so much Lord, in Jesus’ name. Amen

Taken from the Barnabas Fund magazine

FROM THE DIRECTOR
Laying down your life for those who despise you
On Tuesday 20 October two Taliban suicide bombers blew themselves up at the International Islamic University in Islamabad, the Pakistani
capital. One attack took place at a two-storey cafeteria for female students where around 400 young women were having lunch, yet only three of them died. Why were there not scores more killed in such a
crowded environment?

READ the rest of the story on page 2 of the magazine…..

A moving story of one man, Pervez Masih laying down his life. not necessarily for his friends, but following the example of his Saviour in laying down his life for those who would not necessarily be his friends.

“Greater love has no one than this, that someone lay down his life for his friends.”
John 15:13 WEB

Read on Christmas Day, as encouraged by Simon Bell at our Family Carol Service:-
`Lo, the virgin shall conceive, and she shall bring forth a son, and they shall call his name Emmanuel,’ which is, being interpreted `With us he is God.’
Matthew 1:23 Young’s Literal Translation

Thank you Lord that as I come close to you I know that you are God; I sense your power, your awesome otherness, but I also sense your awesome benevolence, which loves and draws – thank you Lord that you give so much, I come to receive. Praise you Lord!

“Speak up for the people who have no voice, for the rights of all the down-and-outers. Speak out for justice! Stand up for the poor and destitute!”
Proverbs 31:8,9 The Message

If ever there was a call for social justice in God’s Word, that is a clear statement! And as I wonder about the future, what I should/shouldn’t be doing, it affirms that it is right to work for the good of the community in the Midland Road area.

Well, there’s plenty more to come, but that’s enough to reflect on! Going back over my diary entries has stimulated my thoughts once again. Lord help us hold to the things you stir in our spirits…

Responses

  1. […] He wasn’t just making a sacrifice – sometimes we will sacrifice something for the good of others – maybe go without something we are longing for, to be able to give aid to help the appeal for finance for Haiti for example – maybe sacrifice time to serve practically in some way to serve others – maybe even as a Pakistani Christian, Pervez Masih, did sacrifice his life by struggling with a suici… […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

