Posted by: lepages | January 20, 2010

Reflections

Some more reflections, scriptures, quotes and prayers from the last little period.

He makes me lie down in green pastures.
He leads me beside still waters.
He restores my soul.
He leads me in paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.

Psalm 23:2,3 English Standard Version

Thank you Lord for this time when you have led me to green pastures, when you have restored my soul. Now I ask you to lead me on in paths of righteousness for the sake of your kingdom.
(As I add this to my blog I find myself saying, Lord, please lead me back to those green pastures, life has been so busy, help me to take that time to just be still before you again – thank you that I can do that and know your presence even now – thank you Lord.)

Be diligent to present yourself approved to God, a worker who doesn’t need to be ashamed, correctly teaching the word of truth. But avoid irreverent, empty speech, for this will produce an even greater measure of godlessness.
2 Timothy 2:15,16 Holman Christian Standard Bible

Lord, help me to live my life in a way that meets with your approval – help me to be diligent in all I do and help me to correctly teach the word of truth – will you use me to speak to your people – will you create a passion in your people for yourself. And Lord, give me wisdom at all times in the way I use my tongue – I know how easily I can degenerate into unwise joking, how my mind is tempted to say innapropriate things which I know in a ‘godless world’ will create even greater godlesness. Help me to keep a guard on my tongue and use it for good and not for evil.

In a well-furnished kitchen there are not only crystal goblets and silver platters, but waste cans and compost buckets—some containers used to serve fine meals, others to take out the garbage. Become the kind of container God can use to present any and every kind of gift to his guests for their blessing.
2 Timothy 2:20,21 The Message

I don’t often feel like a crystal goblet or a silver platter, but I pray nonetheless that you will use me to serve good meals for your people, meals that stimulate in people a hunger for yourself. I recognise too that there is often rubbish in our lives that we need to take out. Help me to help others take the rubbish out too – help me to do that by your Spirit and so see freedom coming.

But now in a single victorious stroke of Life, all three—sin, guilt, death—are gone, the gift of our Master, Jesus Christ. Thank God!
With all this going for us, my dear, dear friends, stand your ground. And don’t hold back. Throw yourselves into the work of the Master, confident that nothing you do for him is a waste of time or effort.
1 Corinthians 15:57,58 The Message

So why is it that so many of us as Christians don’t really throw ourselves into the work of the Master? Could it be that we haven’t truly recognised what he has done for us in Christ – that sin, guilt and death are truly dealt with? Could it be that we end up seeing things as spiritual concepts rather than living realities? The living reality is life transforming!

I suppose the other possibility is that we think whatever we throw ourselves into may be a waste of time and effort – but if we feel like that, the bottom line is we are saying God is a liar. The problem is that so often we have a very narrow view of whether fruit is achieved or not – the reality in God’s scheme of things may be nothing that we look for outwardly, but what he works out in us in the process.

“Throw yourselves into the work of the Master.” – its worth it!

“Leaders need always to give sound reasons to people for their obedience. Unless we tell them ‘why’ they are to do certain things, we are breeding another tradition. Doing it merely because the leaders say so is the beginning of institutionalism.” Philip Greenslade, Leadership

God, save us from doing that – from expecting people to follow because we say so – help us always to root all that we do, everywhere we go, each development securely in you, in your Word and clearly to accomplish your purposes and so see your kingdom coming on earth as it is in heaven.

I did not shrink back from declaring to you the whole plan of God. Acts 20:27 HCSB

Help me Lord always to do that – to declare your whole plan, the full extent of your purposes; help me not to hold back in doing so.


And he appointed twelve that they might be with him, and that he might send them to preach….
Mark 3:14 Darby’s translation

This is the first thing Jesus does in leadership – those he chooses to call to leadership, he chooses to call to be with him – and out of that, he can then send them out to minister. I imagine as undershepherds we are called to do the same…


The steps of the godly are directed by the Lord.
He delights in every detail of their lives.
Psalm 37:23 NLT

Help me Lord to be ‘godly’ – to live my life in such a way that you direct all my steps. Lord, its difficult to get my head around te fact that you delight in the detail of my life – help me to rejoice in every part of life, because you give us all life to richly enjoy. Praise you Lord.

Leave a Reply

Categories

