Posted by: lepages | February 17, 2010

More reflections…

Quotes, scriptures, thoughts, reflections and prayers from time with God over the last couple of weeks….

“Set us aflame with the fire of your love, and bring us to the radiance of your heavenly glory; through Christ our risen Lord.”
Prayer of David Adam in ‘The Road of Life – reflections on searching and longing’

What a prayer! To burn with the fire of God’s love! What a desire! To come into the radiance of God’s glory! More of this Lord! More of this as an experience in reality!

“If there is anyone who can appear before Aslan without their knees knocking, they are either braver than most or just silly.”
“Then he isn’t safe?” said Lucy.
“Safe?” said Mr Beaver; “don’t you hear what Mrs Beaver tells you? Who said anything about safe? ‘Course he isn’t safe. But he’s good. He’s the King, I tell you.”

C.S. Lewis ‘The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe’

What fantastic imagery of our Saviour. I love him. I know he’s good. He’s blessed my life in so many ways and yet… if he was to appear before me in all his glory I would be on my knees, if not on my face before him – as John found himself in Revelation – he who had walked with this man for 3 years…. safe…. no…. with all his power…. good…. with all he is….. YES! ‘God is love.’

Another quote from David Adam’s book ‘The Road of Life’
We used this as a congregational affirmation of faith as we came together for worship a couple of weeks ago.

I arise today
In the power of the Father
In the peace of the Saviour
In the presence of the Spirit

I arise today
To newness of life
To refreshment and restoration
To live in the eternal

I arise today
In the love of the Father
In the light of the Saviour
In the leading of the Spirit

I arise today
In the power of Christ’s resurrection
In the joy of his glorious ascension
In the knowledge of his coming again

Rising in that sort of way to whatever each day brings puts a whole new spin on whatever the day brings!

“The Sovereign Lord has given me his words of wisdom,
so that I know what to say to all these weary ones.
Morning by morning he wakens me
and opens my understanding to his will.”

Isaiah 50:4 New Living Translation

O that you would do that with me Father. Give to me words of wisdom to encourage, strengthen and direct the weary. Help me day by day to know your will being worked out in my life, and in the life of your church.

“But you, Israel, my servant,
Jacob, whom I have chosen,
the offspring of Abraham, my friend;
you whom I took from the ends of the earth,
and called from its farthest corners,
saying to you, “You are my servant,
I have chosen you and not cast you off”;
fear not, for I am with you;
be not dismayed, for I am your God;
I will strengthen you, I will help you,
I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.”

Isaiah 41:8-10 English Standard Version

As if in answer to my prayer above for words to encourage, I came to this scripture in my reading. I keep coming back to it and using it pastorally with people. I’ve printed it out on a sunrise scene that we used as background for a presentation when we used the David Adam affirmation ‘I arise today’ above.


“Oh, how abundant is your goodness,
which you have stored up for those who fear you
and worked for those who take refuge in you,
in the sight of the children of mankind!”

Psalm 31:19 ESV

We sang on Sunday ‘You are good, you are good and your love endures’, but thank you Lord Jesus that goodness is not just in your nature, its in your actions too – thank you for those times when we know your goodness poured out in our lives – thank you for your goodness even yesterday, meeting my need for rest, relaxation and refreshment. Thank you too Lord that you store up your goodness to pour it out on us at those times when we really need it, and so confuse mankind as they see us rejoicing in you, in sometimes the worst of circumstances.

As if to affirm the things I had just said, I was then taken to Psalm 23:5,6 ESV

“You prepare a table before me
in the presence of my enemies;
you anoint my head with oil;
my cup overflows.
Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me
all the days of my life,
and I shall dwell in the house of the LORD
forever.”

Lord, I want to pray for those of your children that I know are suffering at this time, that you would prepare a table of good things for them, in the midst of their circumstances. Would you anoint them afresh with your Spirit, would you cause there to be an overflow of your Spirit’s presence in their lives. May they know goodness and mercy pursuing them and make them very aware that they are right now in your presence.

“The LORD is a refuge for the oppressed,
a refuge in times of trouble.”

Psalm 9:9 Holman Christian Standard Bible

You might like to use this prayer for those known to you who are oppressed and facing times of trouble.

Lord, please cause …….. to turn to you today, right now. May he/she/they awake to you and find refuge from his/her/their circumstances in you.

Time with God is a precious thing. Take time to spend with him yourself. You will be blessed…. and so will others.

Leave a Reply

Categories

