Posted by: lepages | February 24, 2010

Reflections continued…

Continuing from where I left off yesterday….

I guess since I got here I have probably spent more time praying in tongues than I normally do in several weeks – its not just been in worship times, not even just in personal prayer and devotion times, but near enough all the time, I keep finding myself wondering away into this place of communing with God, even as I do other things, as I wrote in my diary earlier, as I type into this blog now I have a sense of my mind being away, communicating with my Lord. I have this sense of being equipped, enabled, built up in him, having my vision enlarged – help me Lord to go with you and whatever you’re about. Keep me open to you, so that you can accomplish all you desire in, through and with me.

Back to my continuing blog on reflections continued from where I was sharing yesterday. A quote from Andrew Wilson in his book ‘Incomparable – explorations in the character of God’

“On a clear night, a candle on a hilltop can be seen 43 miles away.”

That is amazing! I assume its true! Reminds me of an old song ‘This little light of mine, I’m gonna let it shine, let it shine, let it shine’ – great live recording on YouTube here – hundreds available – some much better than others – all sorts of styles – but I like this one!

We may think our light is small and insignificant, but it may be noticed and have an impact way beyond what we realise. Cause your light in me to shine Lord, to brighten other’s days and point the way to you.

“Seek the LORD while he may be found;
call upon him while he is near;
let the wicked forsake his way,
and the unrighteous man his thoughts;
let him return to the LORD, that he may have compassion on him,
and to our God, for he will abundantly pardon.”

Isaiah 55:6,7 English Standard Version

What comparisons – wicked , his way, unrighteous, his thoughts – compared with the Lord – making himself available, full of compassion, full of abundant pardon. Sin is positively evil – it keeps us away from God – I’ve failed, I can’t come before God, I need to hide from him and all the time, he is really saying – leave it behind, come to me and know my grace, putting you right again.

“For just as rain and snow fall from heaven,
and do not return there
without saturating the earth,
and making it germinate and sprout,
and providing seed to sow
and food to eat,

so My word that comes from My mouth
will not return to Me empty,
but it will accomplish what I please,
and will prosper in what I send it to do.”

Isaiah 55:10,11 Holman Christian Standard Bible

How fitting to read this on another morning when I awoke to a fresh blanket of white once again! How fitting to be reminded too that its there for a reason! Like God’s Word – always accomplishing what he sends it to do.

But let all those who take refuge in you rejoice,
Let them always shout for joy, because you defend them.
Let them also who love your name be joyful in you.
For you will bless the righteous.
Yahweh, you will surround him with favour as with a shield.
Psalm 5:11,12 World English Bible

The number of Christians facing severe persecution and imprisonment around the world is huge. Others face prison for other reasons. Lord, inspite of their circumstances would you fill them with joy. I pray for … surround them with your favour over the next few weeks. Thank you for the way you have already answered the prayer for joy. I pray for … in prison in Iran – surround then with your favour; put in place prison staff around them and in the courts who will show them favour. In Jesus name, I pray. Amen.

After this I looked, and behold, a great multitude that no one could number, from every nation, from all tribes and peoples and languages, standing before the throne and before the Lamb, clothed in white robes, with palm branches in their hands, and crying out with a loud voice, “Salvation belongs to our God who sits on the throne, and to the Lamb!”

Revelation 7:9,10 ESV

Many may face persecution now, but there is a day coming when a multitude of people from across the earth, from every community of people will come together to worship, cleansed, made holy, fit to be in your presence and rejoicing in all you have done and all you are – thank you Lord for the privilege of being a part of that day – help us to see glimpses of it in anticipation!

The Lord does hear and answer prayers. On the same day that I read that passage from Revelation I went on to read these verses from Luke 24:45-47 ESV and pray the prayer following.

Then he opened their minds to understand the Scriptures, and said to them, “Thus it is written, that the Christ should suffer and on the third day rise from the dead, and that repentance and forgiveness of sins should be proclaimed in his name to all nations, beginning from Jerusalem.

Lord, please continue to open minds. Even this Sunday as we approach this baptism service, would you open minds. Help us to proclaim the wondrous message of the gospel to all peoples.

Well, the day of the baptisms has come and gone – a wonderful day it was, with great testimonies to God’s grace and working in individual lives. But a day too when the Holy Spirit opened minds and 2 people made commitments to receiving Jesus and his gift of forgiveness and new life. Thank you Lord for hearing our prayers and we cry out Lord, More Lord, More! To your glory and praise so that there are more to give you the glory and honour which you deserve and which is our delight and blessing to bring.

Well, I’ll stop there. In blogs to come I have notes from a preach at Renhold Chapel, an editorial from a triathlon magazine that I’d like to share to make you smile, along with more reflections and perhaps some things from my time at Life in the Spirit.

Leave a Reply

Categories

