Posted by: lepages | March 15, 2010

Some reflections from the last month…

Its ages since I’ve posted some reflections, and there’s been a lot happen inbetween – good things, gracious things, God filled things. The interesting thing is going back through my notes to share some reflections is a real blessing to me, coming back to things God has stirred in my heart and life, just affirms them afresh within me. Hope its a blessing to you too!

“Because of that obedience, God lifted him high and honored him far beyond anyone or anything, ever, so that all created beings in heaven and on earth—even those long ago dead and buried—will bow in worship before this Jesus Christ, and call out in praise that he is the Master of all, to the glorious honour of God the Father.”
Philippians 2:9-11 The Message

There’s a fantastic song which was going through my head as I read these words – click the link, enjoy and be blessed.

‘There is a day’

Thank you Lord that a day is coming when all will bow before the Saviour, even those who now persecute his people. Thank you that there is an ultimate revelation of you and who you are – and when that day comes all will praise you as you deserve!

‘How amazing are the deeds of the Lord!
All who delight in him should ponder them.’

Psalm 111:2 New Living Translation

‘Ponder’ – not a word we use often today – we rush from one thing to another, but how valuable to do this, to just stop and ponder over the amazing things God does in our lives. As I update my blog I find myself pondering again over things I’ve reflected on previously – I find myself pondering them and thinking ‘what an amazing God – thank you for the way you work things out in our lives’.

A prayer for those facing tough times and an affirmation of faith and trust in our God.

‘Be merciful to me, O God, be merciful to me,
for in you my soul takes refuge;
in the shadow of your wings I will take refuge,
till the storms of destruction pass by.
I cry out to God Most High,
to God who fulfills his purpose for me.
He will send from heaven and save me;
he will put to shame him who tramples on me.
God will send out his steadfast love and his faithfulness!’

Psalm 57:1-3 English Standard Version

Some more words of encouragement for those facing tough times…

‘The righteous cry out, and the LORD hears,
and delivers them from all their troubles.
The LORD is near the brokenhearted;
He saves those crushed in spirit.’

Psalm 34:17,18 Holman Christian Standard Bible

‘But as for me, I watch in hope for the LORD, I wait for God my Saviour; my God will hear me.’

Micah 7:7 New International Version

God sometimes works through our tough times to enable us to be able to help others in the future. Many years ago, I prayed a serious, but foolish, prayer, saying to the Lord that I was willing to go through anything if it meant that he could equip me better to serve others, the only caveat I put on that was ‘but Lord, protect my family and don’t let them be hurt’.

By the end of that week I was experiencing physical pain like I had never known, as I was admitted to hospital with appendicitis. Subsequent to that our marriage went through a really tough time, which has enabled me to have some understanding of others’ struggles… and our marriage has come out stringer and gone from strength to strength. Then I went through a time of depression and the emotional pain of feeling that there is no hope, feeling an abject failure, feeling that everything is negative. Then I had my serious accident, nearly died and had a long slow journey to recovery – which was desperate for my family – but enabled me to understand the daily struggle of those afflicted with physical limitations – a recent accident when I came off my cycle again has reminded me how precious life is, of how much we need to make every moment count, of how we need seriously to be wise in what we do (in my case wear a helmet!!) because we never know when our life may be taken from us.

How did I come to reflect on this?
Reading some words from one of Job’s friends…

‘You will have courage because you will have hope.
You will be protected and will rest in safety.
You will lie down unafraid,
and many will look to you for help.’

Job 11:18,19 NLT

My experience hasn’t compared with Job’s at any level – he lost everything – but there are some big truths in those words – courage is brought about through hope – and my hope is in God – he only allows things to fulfill his purposes in my life. In the midst of the struggles and the difficult times I have always felt secure – even if feeling desperate in other ways – why? Because I am in God’s hands and he has hold on my life. Whatever happens I don’t need to be afraid. Progressively through those years many have looked to me for help – I have often questioned why, because I’m not sre that in and of myself I have much to offer, but, by God’s grace, I guess I can enter into what others experience to a certain extent. And maybe he has heard my cry for words of wisdom to encourage, strengthen and direct the weary – I repeatedly turned to scriptures were a blessing to some that I met that day.

Why do I share all this?

Well, I suppose to say to all who struggle at the minute – trust God to see you through, and ask him what you can learn from your experience – horrible though it may be – to be a blessing to others in future.

An awesome prayer to conclude this blog of reflections:-

‘May you experience the love of Christ, though it is so great you wil never fully understand it. Then you will be filled with the fullness of life and power that comes from God. Now glory be to God! By his mighty power at work within us, he is able to accomplish infinitely more than we would ever dare to ask or hope. May he be given glory in the church and in Christ Jesus forever and ever through endless ages! Amen.’

Ephesians 3:19-21 NLT

Leave a Reply

Categories

